Friday, February 21, 2014

The Stellar Prize 2014

The Stella Prize is a literary award celebrating Australian women's writing, it's name honoring one of Australia's iconic female authors, Stella Maria "Miles" Franklin.
The aim of the prize is to give Australian women writers a chance to build brilliant careers, and have their work recognised and celebrated.

This years long list consists of 6 fiction and 6 non fiction titles. The 2014 Stella Prize will be awarded on April 29, 2014. 
  • Letter to George Clooney by Debra Adelaide
  • Moving Among Strangers by Gabrielle Carey
  • Burial Rites by Hannah Kent
  • Night Games by Anna Krien
  • Mullumbimby by Melissa Lucashenko
  • The Night Guest by Fiona McFarlane
  • Boy, Lost: A Family Memoir by Kristina Olsson
  • The Misogny Factor by Anne Summers
  • Madeleine: A life of Madeliene St John by Helen Trinca
  • The Swan Book by Alexis Wright
  • The Forgotten Rebels of Eureka by Clare Wright
  • All the Birds, Singing by Evie Wyld

If you have a favourite female author, we'd love you to share your choices with us.
Let us know what you think about these titles many of which can be found on our catalogue here

No comments: