Friday, July 15, 2016

Hogarth Shakespeare Series

Through the Hogarth Shakespeare series,well known authors are relishing the challenge to re-write much loved Shakespeare classics.

In our last post on the Hogarth Shakespeare series, we reviewed The Gap of Time by Jeanette Winterson and Shylock is My Name by Harold Jacobson.This month sees the latest release in the series Vinegar Girl by Anne Tyler.

Anne Tyler is a Pulitzer Prize winning American novelist. Her novels are set in Baltimore, where she lives. Anne's stories revolve around middle class family life. The ups and downs, the love and the disappointments.

In Vinegar Girl, Anne retells Shakespeare's classic comedy The Taming of the Shrew. The novel brings us an inspired, witty and charming version of one of Shakespeare's most beloved comedies. 

Watch out for the next title in the series Hag-Seed (The Tempest) by Margaret Atwood.

Have you read any of the titles so far in the series?
Share a review with us in the comments below!

No comments: